

AMWA NEWS

The Golden Apple Award

Sarah Dobney / 2021-2022 Director-At-Large and Chair, Member Awards Committee

The Golden Apple Award is presented to a member of AMWA to honor consistent, outstanding workshop leadership.

This year's Golden Apple recipient is **Brian Bass, MWC**. The Member Awards Committee was impressed with Brian's long-term commitment to leading workshops for AMWA and ability to keep his workshops engaging and his material timely and relevant.

Brian has a long history of supporting AMWA's edu-

cational mission. He founded the AMWA-Delaware Valley Chapter Princeton Conference in 1997, bringing a combination of educational workshops and sessions to AMWA members throughout and beyond the Delaware Valley region. He continued to chair The Princeton Conference for 16 years.



In 1997, Brian also taught his first workshop, The Creative Process in Pharmaceutical Advertising & Promotion. Since then, Brian has developed 3 new workshops to help participants develop, launch, and build successful freelance careers. Over the years he has presented these 4 workshops a total of 21 times, with an overall evaluation score of 4.63 out of 5. Brian has also developed and presented 36 open sessions and panel discussions, 16 roundtable presentations, and 10 webinars.

Please join AMWA in congratulating Brian. He will be acknowledged at the 2022 Medical Writing & Communication Conference to be held in Denver, CO from November 2–5, 2022.

The Member Awards Committee members were Melissa L. Bogen, Elizabeth Brown, Sarah Dobney (chair), Mary Knatterud, Susan Krug (ex officio), Abbie Roth, and Michael Schneir. Diane Noland from AMWA HQ provided excellent support.

The AMWA Board of Directors met July 21-22, 2022 at the AMWA headquarters office in Rockville, MD. The hybrid meeting allowed all BOD to attend, either in person or online.



Back row (L to R): Susan Krug, Kim Korwek, Loretta Bohn, Brian Bass, Sarah Dobney, Gail Flores. Middle row (L to R): Jennifer Minarcik, Laura Sheppard, Elise Eller, Ann Winter-Vann, Shawn Watson. Front: Katrina Burton. Not pictured (attended virtually): Joan Affleck, Michelle Sauer Gehring, Lynne Munno, JoAnna Pendergrass, Julie Phelan.